Pick Ollie’s Best Photo

I want to open an Etsy shop but I need to get good photos of my Lanimals.  Here are some shots I took of Ollie the Owl today.  What do you think? I’d really really appreciate any thoughts or suggestions.

First I played with color background.  My thought was that these might pop out more than if Ollie was on a white background.

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Yellow Background

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Plain Blue Background

Then I put my hand in there for context.  This involved some maneuvering to get everything into the frame.  Now you know that I’m white (was that really a surprise?)… and that I have large very straight thumbs.

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Hand for Size Context

Next I played with a textured background.

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Stone Background

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Wicker Background

 

Lastly, I tried my hand at styling some shots with props.  I now better understand why there are professional stylists.

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Pen and Notes

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

MacBook

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Purple Bed

 

Ollie the Owl Lanimal by Simeon the Whale

Desk

I have my favorites but what do you think?  Do you have a favorite? Are there any that are a definite no-go?

