MOMA Near and Far

I spent a summer in DC when I was in college.  One of the things I learned that summer was a new approach toward museum visits.  After having free accessibility to all the Smithsonian museums on the mall, I realized the joy and pleasure from a 1-2 hour museum trip.  No guilt, no dragging yourself through exhibits you think you should enjoy.  I learned to make a quick stop, see something interesting, smile and leave.

As a birthday present, a friend gave me a membership to American Association of Museums (AAM) which means that I can go into many museums for free.  Living in NYC, this is an amazing gift.  I’ve been trying to take advantage of it with quick trips to various sites.

Most recently, I stopped by MOMA to check out their Century of the Child Exhibit.  You couldn’t photograph in the exhibit, but I took another couple of shots of some well-known paintings.

Frida Kahlo
Fulang-Chang and I

Gusav Klimt
Hope, II

Rene Magritte
The Empire of Light, II

Vincent Van Gogh
Portrait of Joseph Roulin

 

Henri Matisse
La Danse I

Henri Rousseau
The Sleeping Gypsy

Leave a Reply

